

Legislative and Campaign Law CLE

Friday, December 9, 2022

Texas Law Center Rm 101, 1414 Colorado Street, Austin MCLE Credit: 5 hours (including 1.75 hours ethics

9:30 AM	Registration	12:15 PM	Election Recap .5 hr.
9:55 AM	Welcome Remarks		James Barragán The Texas Tribune
	J Pete Laney, Section Chair		THE TEXAS THE GALLE
	Law Offices of J Pete Laney	12:45 PM	Break
10:00 AM	Budget and Appropriation Law and	1:00 PM	Ethics of Legislative Advocacy
	Process .5 hr.		.75 hr. ethics
	Ursula Parks		Margo Cardwell
	Ursula Parks Consulting LLC		General Counsel to the House
10:30 AM	Sunset Process Update .75 hr.		Office of the Speaker
10.307111	Steven Ogle	1.45 DN4	Understanding the Legislative Dules
	Deputy Director & General Counsel	1:45 PM	Understanding the Legislative Rules .75 hr.
	Texas Sunset Advisory Commission		
	·		Ross Peavey Brady & Peavey, PC
	Robert Romig		Diady & reavey, re
	Review Director Texas Sunset Advisory Commission		Denise Davis
			Davis Kaufman PLLC
11:15 AM	Panel: Legislative Leadership in the	2:30 PM	Survive and Thrive: Trauma in the Law and What to Do About it .5 hr. ethics
	2023 Session .75 hr.		
	Gardner Pate		
	Chief of Staff		Michelle Fontenot, JD, MEd
	Office of the Governor		Attorney and Clinical Professional
	Enrique Marquez		Texas Lawyers' Assistance Program
	Chief of Staff	3:00 PM	,
	Office of the Speaker		Ethics Reporting for Legislative
	office of the speaker		Lawyers .5hr. ethics
	Darrell Davila		Ross Fischer
	Chief of Staff		Ross Fischer Law
	Office of the Lt. Governor	3:30 PM	Adjourn
12:00 PM	Break – Lunch Provided	3.30 1 101	Aujourn
12.00 F W	Dioan Lunch Flovideu	3:30 PM	Reception at the Texas Trial Lawyers
			Association Rooftop

MCLE Course No. 174180466

This course has been approved for up to 5 hours of MCLE credit, including 1.75 hours ethics credit. This course has also been approved by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization for Legislative and Campaign Law Credit.

Program Information

Legislative and Campaign Law CLE

REGISTER ONLINE:

Legislative and Campaign Law CLE – December 2022

\$100 - SBOT Legislative & Campaign Law members | \$120 - Non-section members

Course Information

Presentations include a panel discussion regarding Legislative Leadership in 2023, as well as several lectures offering ethics credit.

Parking

There is limited free surface parking available at the State Bar of Texas on a first come, first-served basis. There is also metered parking near the building. The parking garage of the Texas Law Center is for employee-use only and is not available to registrants.

Special Accommodations

Please email <u>sections@texasbar.com</u> or call 512.427.1420 if you need accommodations for a disability, and we will do our best to assist you.

Course Materials

Bring your wireless electronic device! Materials will be made available to registrants on a secure webpage prior to and during the CLE conference.

Refunds

If you register and are unable to attend, full refunds will be provided for requests received on or before December 2, 2022, at 5:00 p.m. After that date, refunds will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. To request a refund, contact Rhonda Bridges at the State Bar of Texas Accounting Department by phone at (512) 427-1428 or by email at rhonda.bridges@texasbar.com

Join the Section

Join the Legislative and Campaign Law Section for *just \$20* via your My Bar Page. Section members receive a \$25 discount on this course!

State Bar of Texas Event Terms and Conditions

This is a LIVE event – If you are not feeling well or believe you may have recently been directly exposed to someone with COVID, please do not attend. Full refunds will be provided to anyone who must cancel based upon their health status. You must agree to the State Bar Terms and Conditions during the registration process to attend this event.

Officers:

J Pete Laney, Chair Linda Townsend, Chair-Elect Luis Soberon, Secretary Rahul Sreenivasan, Treasurer Hugh Brady, Past Chair

Council Members:

Ender Reed
Hon. Kirk P. Watson
Daniel A. Petalas
Wroe Jackson
Bobby Joe Dale, Ill
Ross Walker Giesinger
Tamoria Jones
Juliana Kerker
Trent Townsend